Georgia’s two U.S. senators and four members of the state’s congressional delegation are urging federal agriculture officials to declare 22 drought-stricken counties disaster areas.

Republican U.S. Sens. Saxby Chambliss and Johnny Isakson were among those who’ve signed a letter to Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack.

The other signatures on the letter were U.S. Reps. Jack Kingston of Savannah, Austin Scott of Tifton, John Barrow of Savannah and Sanford Bishop of Albany.

Kingston and Scott are Republican. Barrow and Bishop are Democrats.

The lawmakers said as much as 54 percent of the state has been documented as suffering from extreme drought conditions. The disaster designation would allow Georgia farmers to apply for emergency loans and other benefits.

Gov. Nathan Deal made the formal request for the disaster declaration last week.